top of page
Current Residents.jpg

     Susie & Mike Raeder

          Current Owners

The Camellia House

Construction began in 1905 by William S. Cobb, Jr, and his wife, Berry.  Mr. Cobb was the manager at Tift Lumber Mill.  The Cobbs wanted to build a home that would impress others and be a comfortable home for their growing family.  The builder of the house was a 'Mr. Westbrook".  

The home features its iconic three-story turret with original blown curved glass,  hardwood floors, layers of detailed crown molding, Mastercraftsman hand-carved woodwork, and original stained glass. The wrap-around porch boasts 18 restored Corinthian columns. 

 

Over the home's 117 year history it has housed an art studio, dance studio, and law office.    Yet, the heart of this beauty has always been a home.  

The Raeder Family is proud and humbled to be the home's most current residents.  They are dedicated to maintaining the beauty of the home for Tifton's next generation.  

Welcome to our Home. 

 

Previous Owners

William S. & Berry Cobb, Sr. and Family - 1905 to ????

James L. Bowen and Family - ???? to 1975

Veda Dorminey Bowen & Elizabeth Bowen Caton - 1975 to 1977

Maxine Stork - 1977 to 1979

     - Southern Georgia Ballet Company

Judge Rusty & Julie Simpson and Family - 1979 to 2013

Dr. Michael A Garbee and Family - 2013 to 2021

Michael and Susan Raeder - 2021 to present

bottom of page